Icom IC-F3GS

I picked up an Icom IC-F3GS VHF handheld transceiver at the NARC tabletop sale on Wednesday – a lovely little radio but it did make me think ‘why do I need another handie’?

Well I suppose it’s as much for the challenge of ‘taking control’ of the thing – I’ve had a great bit of fun researching programming software and cables, and I’ve just managed to reprogram it away from Norfolk / Suffolk ambulance channels onto Amateur 2m frequencies.

And it was a bargain, and it’s a nice radio, and you can never have too many handies?

If push comes to shove I’ll just punt it on to someone else at the next sale, having had my fun.

Leave a Reply

